Mint n Lemon Squash

Mint n Lemon Squash

Squash (sometimes called cordial) is a concentrated, often fruit-based, syrup to which water is added. It is also the name of the resulting drink.

It is common in the United Kingdom and Ireland, especially among toddlers and young children. Typically, squash is created by mixing one part syrup with four or five parts water (depending on concentration of the syrup and personal taste), directly into a glass or mug or into a jug. The most common flavours are: orange; apple and blackcurrant; lemon and lime. Other flavours include peach, strawberry, kiwi fruit and fruits of the forest.

In the West Indies the name “squash” is used to describe a lime juice drink, similar to lemonade.(source:wikipedia)

This squash is quite unique as it uses mint and its unique in its taste too…

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Mint (cleaned,washed and dryed ) – 4 cups

Sugar – 2 cups

Water – 1 cup

Lemon – 2 or 3

Method:

Clean the mint leaves wash and pat them dry thoroughly with paper towel.

Meanwhile heat the sugar and water to form sugar syrup of sticky consistency.

Now add in the chopped (i tore them with hands) mint leaves over the hot syrup. Leave them to cool for about 3-4 hrs till all the mint flavour is infused in the syrup.

Stir in the lemon juice to this syrup and press the leaves with a wooden ladle just to ensure it infuses all its essence to the syrup.

Strain the juice into clean dry bottle and refrigerate.

Serving suggestion:

Mix one part of the syrup with five parts of water/soda water and serve chilled with a lemon slice and quench your thirst.

I am gonna travel to Germany and join Meeta’s Monthly Mingle and “Beat the Heat” with this squash.See you all there friends!

17 Responses to “Mint n Lemon Squash”

  1. BDSN Says:

    Such a nice way to beat the summer heat Arsu!!!I can’t wait to give a try of this recipe!!

    Let me know how you like it BDSN  :-)

  2. Archana Says:

    I guess i can make some right away, have got a mint growing like crazy !!! Thank you for the recipe Arsu

    Hope you would enjoy making this squash Archana !!

  3. Annita Says:

    Such a cool recipe in this hot,Arsu..Gotta give it a try soon

    Really you can feel the minty chillness down your throat with the first sip. I simply love this. Let me know how you like it Annita!

  4. Meeta Says:

    Hi, Arsu, Thanks for this lovely and refreshing entry to my Monthly Mongle. First, I am really glad you entered – not only because this looks great but now I have another fellow Indian blogger bookmarked on my list. Hope to see you around mor often!

    Hey Meeta thanks for dropping by. I am happy that you have bookmarked my blog.Hope you would also visit me often and encourage me.

  5. Puspha Says:

    Very refreshing!!!!

    Welcome back Pushpa!

  6. vineela Says:

    Hi Arsu,
    Good for summer arsu.
    thanks for sharing.
    Vineela

    Hope you would chill out this summer with minty goodness. Let me know how you liked it Vineela! 

  7. sudha vinodh Says:

    HiArsu,
    what a way to beat up the heat..Great one for the summer.Thanxs for sharing..

    Welcome to my blog Sudha!

  8. sanju Says:

    Hi Arsu

    Squash looks Cooooooool. Hey here are few more interesting health drinks:

    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/healthy-drinks-refreshments-recipes/

    Welcome to my blog Sanju. Thanks for the link :)

  9. singsit Says:

    mouthwatering recipe

  10. Uttedge Says:

    hey :)
    its very unconventional point of view.
    Good post.
    realy good post

    thank you ;)

  11. Pritya Says:

    Hi Arsu. That looks summery and refreshing. Adding mint leaves to the hot syrup is a good idea, wonder if it turns greenish. Hope you enjoy your beat the heat plans. Cheers.

  12. nono Says:

    hi no thats not ture

  13. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  14. celebrity fuck you Says:

    Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! upwyg and 7628eveqveamgp and 4740 : I will try to recommend this post to my friends and family, cuz its really helpful.

  15. xandra Says:

    Looks delicious…realy good post

  16. Latonia Kimber Says:

    Fairly recently, I just didn’t allow loads of considered to departing side effects regarding web log internet page content and possess inserted feed-back possibly a reduced amount of. Looking at by means of an individual’s satisfying post, will assist everyone to take action from time to time.

  17. meble kuchenne katowice Says:

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make sure to do not forget this website and give it a look regularly.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

